Faculty Development

Howard University provides varying forms of faculty development through a workshop series addressing specific subject areas. Faculty members must demonstrate: excellence in carrying out responsibilities related to teaching, research, publication in peer journals, and other scholarly achievements; professional development; public service; student advising; and, contributions to the department, the school/college and the University.

Teaching and Learning Faculty Scholars Program Senior Scholar Appointments 2010-12

Dr. Oluwaranti Akiyode, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Dr. Akiyode has successfully completed a number of high quality professional development certificate programs and workshops covering teaching methodology, assessment, and PBL. She also completed a residency and is board certified in Pharmacotherapy, credentialed as a Diabetes Management Specialist, and conducts research in her practice focus area. We look forward to her service as a Senior Scholar to serve as faculty mentor specifically in areas that improve teaching and learning in the various professional programs of CPNAHS.

Dr. Beverly Mims, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Dr. Mims has a long history of enthusiastic engagement in the pharmacy profession and Howard University. Excellence and commitment to teaching and service are evidenced by receipt of a number of teaching awards and commendations for professional and public service. She has used faculty development opportunities to gain additional skills in health law, medical ethics and instructional design with recent emphasis on performance evaluation in clinical practice. Dr. Mims is well-suited to mentor faculty, both in teaching and in public service leadership.

Senior Scholars are expected to provide leadership in Teaching and Learning through a variety of mentoring and faculty development activities.

Teaching and Learning Faculty Scholars Program Project Scholar Awards for 2010-11

The Teaching and Learning Faculty Scholars Program (TLFSP) Advisory Committee selected the following faculty to receive awards:

Salome Bwayo Weaver, Pharm.D., Assistant Professor
Project Title: Multidisciplinary E-Learning Approach to Health Policy

Avril Nimblett, M.S., PA-C, Instructor
Project Title: Classroom Assessment Techniques in Physician Assistant Education: Improving Higher Order Thinking Skills in a Clinical Medicine Course 

The Teaching and Learning Faculty Scholars Program is administered through COP’s Center of Excellence (Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the Bureau of Health Professions) with the primary goal of providing faculty with an opportunity to enhance learning through the scholarly application of new teaching and learning methods.